Skip to main content

Home: Diseases

General Books on Diseases

Avian Influenza

Articles on bird flu H5N1 (The Conversation)  

Avian influenza (World Health Organization, 2006)  

Avian influenza (World Health Organization, 2011)  

Avian influenza (bird flu) (Department of Health and Ageing, Australian Government)  

Bird flu strain taking a toll on humans [magazine article] (Dennis Normile, Science Magazine, 2017)  

How the Midwest's massive bird flu outbreak could threaten humans (Julia Belluz, Vox, 2015)  

Human cases of bird flu are surging, alarming public health officials (Helen Branswell, STAT, Boston Globe Media, 2017)  

Information on avian influenza (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2017)  

Protect yourself: avian flu: laboratory employees (Occupational Safety and Health Administration, United States Department of Labor)  

Ten things you need to know about pandemic influenza (World Health Organization, 2005)  

The avian flu epidemic: massive impact, uncertain future [magazine article] (Maryn McKenna, National Geographic Society, 2015)  

The influenza (flu) virus (Molecular Expressions: Cell Biology and Microscopy, Florida State University)  

Where is avian flu hiding? [magazine article] (Dina Fine Maron, Scientific American, 2015)  

Barmah Forest

Barmah Forest virus (Northern Territory Government, 2017)  

Barmah Forest virus [statistics] (Department of Health, Western Australian Government, 2017)  

Barmah Forest virus (Lab Tests Online, American Association for Clinical Chemistry, 2015)  

Barmah Forest virus infection (Phillip Petersen, Ausmed, 2016)  

Barmah Forest virus infection (Department of Health, New South Wales Government)  

Emergence of Barmah Forest virus in Western Australia (Michael D A Lindsay...and others, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2010)  

Ross River virus and Barmah Forest virus (Department of Health, Western Australian Government)  

Creutzfeldt Jakob Disease

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (National Health Service, British Government)  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (MedlinePlus, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2015)  

Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease fact sheet (United States National Institutes of Health)  

How vCJD proteins reach the blood (BBC, 2004)  

One in 2,000 UK people might carry vCJD proteins. Prevalence of infectious prions raises questions over risk of clinical disease [magazine article] (Ewen Callaway, Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science, Macmillan Publishers, 2013)  

Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (World Health Organization, 2012)  

Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (vCJD) (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2015)  

Variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (Erik Z Krause, Medscape, WebMD, 2016)  

Variant Creutzfeldt–Jakob disease (vCJD) (Transfusion Handbook, Joint United Kingdom (UK) Blood Transfusion and Tissue Transplantation Services Professional Advisory Committee)  

Search the State Library's Databases

Try the following databases.

.

Find high-quality and up-to-date information covering all major scientific disciplines, drawn from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology. Learn from articles, plus images and animations illustrating key topics.

 PLoS Biology features works of exceptional significance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface with other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.

ProQuest Biology Journals provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more that 325 avaialble in full text.

Science and Geography Education (SAGE) Online indexes popular journals across a broad range of subjects. Most journals indexed are Australian but several overseas titles are also included.

Dengue Fever

Articles on dengue fever (The Conversation)  

Dengue (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Dengue (Kay M Tomashek, Tyler M Sharp and Harold S Margolis, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Dengue and dengue haemorrhagic fever (Fact sheet No 117, World Health Organization)  

Dengue and severe dengue (World Health Organization, 2016)  

Dengue breakthrough: protein discovery could 'jump-start human drug trials' (Dani Cooper, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, 2015)  

Dengue fever (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health)  

Dengue fever (Craig R Pringle, Merck Manual, 2015)  

Dengue part 1: the virus and the global burden of disease (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Dengue part 2: the mosquito and its ecology (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Dengue virus disease (Infectious Diseases Epidemiology and Surveillance, Victorian Government, 2015)  

Ebola

Articles on ebola (The Conversation)  

Ebola (ebola virus disease) (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Ebola crisis: virus spreading too fast, says WHO (BBC, 2014)  

Ebola hemorrhagic fever (Medline Plus, United States National Library of Medicine, 2014)   

Ebola in Africa: the end of a tragedy? [newspaper article] (The Economist, 2016)  

Ebola virus disease (World Health Organization, 2014)  

Ebola: mapping the outbreak (BBC, 2015)  

How you can and can't get Ebola (Matthew Liddy, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, 2014)  

Hepatitis

Hepatitis A (Better Health Channel, Victorian Government, 2015)  

Hepatitis A (World Health Organization, 2016)

Hepatitis A (Queensland Government, 2016)  

Hepatitis A control guideline (Department of Health, New South Wales Government, 2014)  

HIV

HIV and AIDS (Family Doctor, American Academy of Family Physicians, 2014)  

HIV and AIDS: 12 common questions answered (My Dr, CMPMedica Australia, 2013)  

HIV/AIDS (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, United States Department of Health and Human Services)  

Legionnaire's Disease

Legionella (Legionnaires' disease and Pontiac fever) (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Legionella infection (Mobeen H Rathore, Medscape, WebMD, 2016)  

Legionellosis (World Health Organization, 2016)  

Legionellosis (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, 2017)  

Legionellosis (Legionnaires’ disease) (Victorian Government, 2015)  

Legionnaires' disease (Queensland Government, 2016)  

Malaria

Malaria (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, 2017)  

Malaria (Better Health Channel, Victorian Government, 2014)  

Malaria (Richard D Pearson, Merck Manual, 2015)  

Malaria (Richard C Russell, University of Sydney)  

Malaria [interactive] (Nobel Foundation)  

Malaria (Paul M Arguin and Kathrine R Tan, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, UnitedStates Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Malaria lifecycle part 1: human host [animation] (Drew Berry, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, 2016)  

Malaria lifecycle part 2: mosquito host [animation] (Drew Berry, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, 2016)  

Malaria part 1: the parasite (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Malaria part 2: the vector (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Malaria part 3: the disease (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Malaria part 4: the landscape (Michael Walsh, Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Meningococcal

Meningitis (Better Health Channel, Victorian Government, 2016)  

Meningitis (Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 2016)  

Meningococcal disease (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Meningococcal disease (Better Health Channel, Victorian Government, 2016)  

Meningococcal disease (Jessica R MacNeil and Sarah A Meyer, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Meningococcal meningitis (World Health Organization, 2010)  

Plague

Plague (Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Plague (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2015)  

Plague (World Health Organization, 2017)  

Plague (Matthew E Levison, Merck Manual, 2015)  

Plague (bubonic, pneumonic, septicemic) (Paul S Mead, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Yersinia enterocolitica (Bad Bug Book: Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins Handbook, U.S. Food and Drug Administration)  

Yersinia pestis (plague, Black Death, bubonic plague) [image] (Bacteria Pictures, Russell Kightley Media: Scientific Illustration)  

Polio

Articles on polio (The Conversation)  

In pictures: the history of polio [image] (BBC, 2012)  

Polio and post-polio syndrome (Better Health Channel, Victorian Government, 2012)  

Poliomyelitis (World Health Organization)  

Poliomyelitis (James P Alexander, Gregory S Wallace and Steven G F Wassilak, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Salmonella

Salmonella [image] (Janice Haney Carr, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2008)  

Salmonella (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services)  

Salmonella (World Health Organization)  

Salmonella infections (Medline Plus, United States National Library of Medicine, 2016)   

Salmonella infections (Matthew E Levison, Merck Manual, 2015)  

Salmonellosis (Department of Health, Victorian Government, 2015)  

Salmonellosis (Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

QUT CiteWrite

Correct referencing is an essential skill in Science. Use CiteWrite to find the correct way to reference your sources. Remember to use a variety of quality sources. 

 

Videos to Watch

SARS

Health officials struggle to understand SARS [magazine article] (Bijal P Trivedi, National Geographic Society, 2003)  

SARS (Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome) (World Health Organization, 2016)  

SARS 10 years later (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2013)  

The effect of global travel on the spread of SARS [magazine article] (Shigui Ruan, Wendi Wang and Simon A Levin, Mathematical Biosciences and Engineering Journal, 2006)  

The mystery of the SARS virus: how is it spread? (Stefan Lovgren, National Geographic News, 2003)  

Viral load distribution in SARS outbreak (Chung-Ming Chu...and others, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2005)  

Where has SARS gone? The strange case of the disappearing coronavirus (Robert Peckham, Somatosphere, 2016)  

Tuberculosis

2010/2011: tuberculosis: global facts [statistics] (World Health Organization, 2010)  

Drug-resistant tuberculosis in PNG and Torres Strait Islands (Ben Marais, Tania Sorrell and Warwick Britton, The Conversation, 2012)  

Global tuberculosis report 2013 (World Health Organization)  

Spiral structure key to TB’s drug resistance (Mike Krapfl, Futurity, 2012)  

Tuberculosis [interactive] (Nobel Foundation)  

Tuberculosis (Department of Health, New South Wales Government)  

Tuberculosis (World Health Organization)  

Tuberculosis (TB) (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health)  

Tuberculosis (TB) (Philip LoBue, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2015)  

Tuberculosis (TB) - including symptoms, treatment and prevention (Department of Health, South Australian Government)  

Yellow Fever

Global alert and response: Yellow Fever (World Health Organization)  

Yellow Fever (World Health Organization)  

Yellow Fever (Craig R Pringle, Merck Manual, 2015)  

Yellow Fever (Medline Plus, United States National Library of Medicine, 2015)   

Yellow Fever (Department of Health, Victorian Government, 2015)  

Yellow Fever (Mark D Gershman and J Erin Staples, Travelers' Health - Yellow Book, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2016)  

Yellow Fever (Infection Landscapes, 2011)  

Yellow Fever fact sheets (Department of Health and Ageing, Australian Government)  

Yellow Fever vaccination: what everyone should know (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2017)  

Zika

Countries with local Zika transmission (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, 2016)  

It's official: Zika is a sexually transmitted infection [magazine article] (Maryn McKenna, National Geographic Society, 2016)  

Zika anxieties and a role for geography (Eric D Carter, Conference of Latin Americanist Geographers, 2016)  

Zika link to birth defects could be proven within weeks -WHO [newspaper article] (Stephanie Nebehay and Ben Hirschler, Thomson Reuters Foundation, 2016)  

Zika virus [newspaper article] (The Guardian)  

Zika virus (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States Department of Health and Human Services, 2017)  

Zika virus explained: what is it, where is it, and how does it spread? (Cristen Tilley, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, 2016)  

Zika virus outside Africa [magazine article] (Edward B Hayes, Emerging Infectious Diseases, 2009)  

Zika virus: a new threat and a new kind of pandemic [magazine article] (Maryn McKenna, National Geographic Society, 2016)  

Zika: a rare benign virus suddenly turns nasty, and heads for the US (Derek Gatherer, The Conversation, 2016)