LibGuides: Year 8 Chemistry: Home

Your Assignment

Developing a Research Question

Research Question Generator
from the University of Michigan

Search the State Library Databases

Search the State Library of Queensland site for databases, journal articles, academic papers, datasets etc. You need to sign up for a free State Library membership.

General Science and Chemistry Databases and Journals

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Science Direct
UQ School Science Lessons
Royal Society of Chemistry
arXiv
Open access to scientific articles. Owned and operated by Cornell University
CORE
World's largest open access search engine. Requires free sign up to access.
ScienceOpen
Jurn
Science Journal for Kids and Teens
peer-reviewed science research adapted for students
Young Scientists' Journal
original peer-reviewed research by students aged 12-20
ChemMatters
American Chemical Society's magazine for students
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a service that indexes and provides access to quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles.
MDPI
provides free access to 221 scientific journals
Frontiers for Young Minds
articles from Frontiers journals rewritten for children
Frontiers in Chemistry
Zenodo
National Library of Australia
Science Teachers' Association of Western Australia: Resources
CSIRO
Some open access but most articles are subscription only
Research Gate
No login required, but need to click “join for free” and then “No, my work is not scientific”

How does the ph level of water affect the rate of rusting in iron?

Materials changes and reactions by Chris Oxlade
Call Number: 541.39 OXL
Reactions by Theodore Gray
Call Number: 541.39 GRA
ISBN: 9780316391221
Publication Date: 2017-10-17
The Elements by Theodore Gray (Photographer); Nick Mann (Photographer)
Call Number: 546 GRA

Drinking Water Problems: Corrosion

Don't Just Google It

Connected Papers
Found a great paper? Search for others that are connected to it.
The Conversation
the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis
Semantic Scholar
an AI-based search engine that searches academic papers and provides a one sentence summary.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
an open-access search engine

How effective is a car's catalytic converter in reducing carbon monoxide emissions?

Will fuel cell vehicles, powered by green hydrogen, reduce greenhouse gas emissions?

For Teachers

Science Quest 8 by Graeme Lofts, Merrin J. Evergreen
Call Number: 507 LOF
Publication Date: 2018
Pearson science. Student book. 8 by Greg Rickard et al
Call Number: 500 RIC
ISBN: 9781488615023
Publication Date: 2017
Pearson science. Activity book. 8 by Greg Rickard et al
Call Number: 507.6 RIC
ISBN: 9781488615061
Publication Date: 2017
Pearson science: 8: Teacher companion by Rochelle Manners et al
Call Number: 500 PEA
Publication Date: 2011
Heinemann Queensland Science Project : Science 8 : A contextual approach by Regan Spence et al
Call Number: 500 SPE
Publication Date: 2006

Ms Keen

Nell Keen

Email Me

Contact:

5436 7347