LibGuides: 9 Physics: Home

Your Assignment

Physics Research Investigation

Clickview

Watch videos on your topic on Clickview. You may need to use your school log in.

The Sunshine Coast council should encourage the building of rammed earth houses.

Digeridoos all sound the same.

Developing a Research Question

Research Question Generator
from the University of Michigan

Don't Just Google It

Connected Papers
Found a great paper? Search for others that are connected to it.
The Conversation
the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis
Semantic Scholar
an AI-based search engine that searches academic papers and provides a one sentence summary.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
an open-access search engine

Sea breezes only occur during hot, summer days.

The Sea Breeze

A Long-Term Study of Sea-Breeze Characteristics: A Case Study of the Coastal City of Adelaide

Warning sounds are more effective than light signals.

Sound & Light (Physics): How are They Different?

Assessing the Effectiveness of Various Auditory Cues in Capturing a Driver’s Visual Attention

Lights and Sirens Improve Safety of Emergency Calls

The Safety and Effectiveness of Emergency Vehicle Lighting

For Teachers

Sites2See: Light and Matter
Links to resources to explore fundamental questions about light and matter and the application of the physics of light and matter to the past, the future and to space. Includes a quick quiz, links to additional DEC NSW physics resources and to the International Science School at the University of Sydney.

Explore how sound travels as a wave. Examine diagrams and simulations to answer a series of questions about sound properties. For example, identify the effects of compression waves on the vibration speed of particles. Test the effects of changing wave properties: frequency, wavelength and amplitude. Transmit sounds in a range of mediums: air, water or steel. Examine definitions of wave properties and notice that sound travels faster in denser materials such as steel.

Pearson Science 9: Activity Book by Greg Rickard
Call Number: 500 RIC
ISBN: 9781488615078
Publication Date: 2017
Pearson Science 9: Student Book by Greg Linstead
Call Number: 500 PEA
Publication Date: 2012
Practical Physics Labs by Peter Goodwin; Thomas G. Cohn (Editor); Nicholas Soloway (Illustrator)
Call Number: 530.078 GOO
Publication Date: 2015
Science Quest 9 by Graeme Lofts, Merrin J. Evergreen
Call Number: 507 LOF
Publication Date: 2018

General Science and Physics Databases and Journals

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a service that indexes and provides access to quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles.
Science Direct
MDPI
provides free access to 221 scientific journals
UQ School Science Lessons
arXiv
Open access to scientific articles. Owned and operated by Cornell University
CORE
World's largest open access search engine. Requires free sign up to access.
ScienceOpen
Jurn
European Physical Journal
Provides open access to the EPJ Web of Conferences journal
Frontiers in Physics
Science Journal for Kids and Teens
peer-reviewed science research adapted for students
Young Scientists' Journal
original peer-reviewed research by students aged 12-20
CiteSeerX
A scientific search engine run by Pennsylvania State University focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Frontiers for Young Minds
articles from Frontiers journals rewritten for children
Zenodo
National Library of Australia
Science Teachers' Association of Western Australia: Resources
Australian Institute of Physics
American Physical Society
CSIRO
Some open access but most articles are subscription only
Research Gate
No login required, but need to click “join for free” and then “No, my work is not scientific”

Ms Keen

Nell Keen

Email Me

Contact:

5436 7347