LibGuides: Physics: Unit 4: Home

Your Assignment

Physics IA3 Research Investigation

Study Guides

QCE Physics: Units 3&4 by Brian Shadwick.
Call Number: 530 SHA
Cambridge Checkpoints QCE Physics Units 1-4 by Stephen Pinel
Call Number: 530 PIN
ISBN: 9781108909907

Search the State Library Databases

Search the State Library of Queensland site for databases, journal articles, academic papers, datasets etc. You need to sign up for a free State Library membership.

Trove

Trove
Trove is the search portal for the National Library of Australia. You can search for journals, articles and data sets. Make sure you tick the "available online" button.

QUT CiteWrite

Correct referencing is an essential skill in academic research. Use CiteWrite to find the correct way to reference your sources using APA 7th ed. Remember to use a variety of quality sources.

Humans may be able to reach nearby stars in less than a lifetime as a consequence of special relativity.

Space and Time in Special Relativity

Light behaves either always as a particle or always as a wave.

Quantum theory has very little practical use in everyday life.

Modern physics introduced a new way of looking at the universe.

Check out these selected web sites on Library Webs. If accessing from home you will need to log in with user name pacific and password college.

Maths, Astronomy and Physics > Revolutions in modern physics: Quantum theory > Bohr's model of the atom
Maths, Astronomy and Physics > Revolutions in modern physics: Quantum theory > Superposition
Maths, Astronomy and Physics > Revolutions in modern physics: Quantum theory > Heisenberg’s uncertainty principle
Maths, Astronomy and Physics > Revolutions in modern physics: Quantum theory > Structure of the Universe
Maths, Astronomy and Physics > Revolutions in modern physics: Quantum theory > Many Worlds Interpretation

Browser Extensions

Download one of these browser extensions and it will find any open access copies (if available) of an article you need.

Don't Just Google It

Connected Papers
Found a great paper? Search for others that are connected to it.
The Conversation
the world’s leading publisher of research-based news and analysis
Semantic Scholar
an AI-based search engine that searches academic papers and provides a one sentence summary.
BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
an open-access search engine

General Science and Physics Databases and Journals

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a service that indexes and provides access to quality-controlled Open Access Journals and their articles.
Science Direct
MDPI
provides free access to 221 scientific journals
UQ School Science Lessons
arXiv
Open access to scientific articles. Owned and operated by Cornell University
CORE
World's largest open access search engine. Requires free sign up to access.
ScienceOpen
Jurn
European Physical Journal
Provides open access to the EPJ Web of Conferences journal
Frontiers in Physics
Science Journal for Kids and Teens
peer-reviewed science research adapted for students
Young Scientists' Journal
original peer-reviewed research by students aged 12-20
CiteSeerX
A scientific search engine run by Pennsylvania State University focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Frontiers for Young Minds
articles from Frontiers journals rewritten for children
Zenodo
National Library of Australia
Science Teachers' Association of Western Australia: Resources
Australian Institute of Physics
American Physical Society
CSIRO
Some open access but most articles are subscription only
Research Gate
No login required, but need to click “join for free” and then “No, my work is not scientific”

Ms Keen

Nell Keen

Email Me

Contact:

5436 7347