LibGuides: World War II: World War II

Your Assignment

Atomic Bomb assignment

Search the State Library's Databases

State Library Databases
Search up to 15 databases at once. I would suggest you select the following:
APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs–Full Text
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Encyclopaedia Britannica
Europa World Plus
Gale Virtual Reference Library - ebooks
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
MIHILIST - Australasian Military History
Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
Times Digital Archive 1785-2006

General Web Sites on WWII

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

World War Two

A BBC page featuring articles written by historians. Covers the causes, events and people of the most destructive war in history

The war on all fronts - year by year (World War II 1939-1945, ANZAC Day Commemoration Committee Queensland)

Gives a timeline for the events of World War II

QUT CiteWrite

Correct referencing is an essential skill in History. Use CiteWrite to find the correct way to reference your sources. Remember to use a variety of quality sources.

History Channel

Watch History Channel videos on World War II.

For Teachers

Geography/History 10: Australian Curriculum
Call Number: 910 EAS
History 10: The Modern World and Australia
Call Number: 909 HIS
Pearson History 10
Call Number: 909 PEA
Australia in the 20th Century by Mark Anderson and Paul Ashton
Call Number: 994.04 AND
Monumental Humanities 3 by Ken Webb; Romeo Salla
Call Number: 994.007 WEB
Australians at War
Call Number: 994.04 AUS
kit containing book, DVD and accompanying web site
Germany 1918-1945 by K.J. Mason
Call Number: 943.085 MAS
Cambridge humanities and social sciences for Queensland. 10 by Alison Bedford
Call Number: 300.712 BED
ISBN: 9781009043267
Publication Date: 2021

Find Quality Web Sites Here

Visit Library Webs for fact-checked web sites. If accessing from home log in with pacific/college.

The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb

The Truman Library has a collection of primary source documents detailed the discussions leading up to the dropping of the atomic bomb.

Cartoon from News of the World 22nd July, 1945

America's decision to drop the atomic bomb on Japan (Joseph H Paulin, Louisiana State University, 2007)

Hiroshima bomb may have carried hidden agenda [magazine article] (Rob Edwards, New Scientist, 2005)

History of WW2: atomic bomb (History, A&E Television Networks, 2014)

National sovereignty and collective security: Japan surrenders (History 20, Saskatoon Public School Division)

National sovereignty and collective security: The Atomic Bomb - Hiroshima and Nagasaki (History 20, Saskatoon Public School Division)

President Truman: using atomic bombs against Japan, 1945 (Digital History, University of Houston, 2014)

The atomic bomb (Asia for Educators, Columbia University, 2009)

The Atomic Bomb: Hiroshima and Nagasaki (Christopher Hamner, Teaching History)

The decision to drop the bomb (Nuclear Files: Project of the Nuclear Age Peace Foundation)

The decision to drop the Bomb (Independence Hall Association in Philadelphia)

The decision to use the atomic bomb (February 1947) by Henry Stimson (Primary Source Document with Questions, Asia for Educators, Columbia University, 2009)

The real reason America used nuclear weapons against Japan. It was not to end the war or save lives. (Washington's Blog, Global Research, 2013)

Understanding the decision to drop the bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki (Nathan Donohue, Center for Strategic and International Studies, 2015)

Was the decision to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki taken less to end the war with Japan than to frighten the Soviet Union? (Cherry-Lynne Hopley, Academia, 2013)

Was the dropping of the atomic bombs necessary? (Japan Today, 2010)

Junko Morimoto: Surviving Hiroshima
Well known author/illustrator Junko Morimoto who emigrated to Sydney recalls the day the bomb fell

WWII: A War for Resources

World Book Timelines

View and create timelines.

If accessing from home you will need to log in. User name: pacluth1 Password: library

Books in our Library on World War II

Critical Perspectives on World War II by James W. Fiscus
Call Number: 940.53 CRI
Hiroshima: The Shadow of the Bomb by Richard Tames
Call Number: 940.5425 TAM
Causes, Course and Consequences by Simon Adams
Call Number: 940.53 ADA
Complete Idiot's Guide to World War II by Mitchell G. Bard
Call Number: 940.53 BAR
A Short History of the Second World War by Nigel Cawthorne
Call Number: 940.54 CAW
World War II: Lost Words by Colin Hynson
Call Number: 940.54 HYN
World War II by Nicolas Brasch
Call Number: 940.53 BRA
The Causes of World War II by Paul Dowswell
Call Number: 940.53 DOW
The Second World War by Dennis Hamley
Call Number: 940.53 HAM
Hiroshima and Nagasaki by R.G. Grant
Call Number: 940.5425 GRA
Yoko's Diary by Paul Ham (Editor); Debbie Edwards (Translator)
Call Number: 940.53 MOR
ISBN: 9780733331176
Publication Date: 2014-09-09
My Hiroshima by Junko Morimoto
ISBN: 0207188734
Publication Date: 1992

Your teacher librarian

Nell Keen

Email Me

Contact:

5436 7347